Does your outdoor knife also do Kitchen duty?

Discussion in 'Blades' started by plumberroy, Jul 10, 2021.

1. plumberroy

plumberroy Monkey+

I have used my Moras for kitchen duty for ever, last winter I was on crutches from surgery, not working so I spent most of my time on forums. I mentioned that I wanted a BK10 but between my hours being cut due to COVID-19 (I work in a hospital) and surgery I was living on 80% of my normal pay . The BK-10 would have to wait. I got a P.M. from a member of that forum that he would send me a BK-10 it had the thumb ramp removed and the top of the clip point rounded some. This quickly became my go-to knife outside. The surgery has allowed me to get a garden out this year . Well now we are up to our ears in Cucumbers and summer squash. I find myself reaching for my BK-10 for kitchen duty too I sliced up a bunch of cucumbers for my lovely wife to make bread and butter pickles today and I slice excess squash up and dehydrate it
    IMG_20210710_131617. IMG_20210708_165038.

2. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

Unfortunately, most of my knives are too thick to be effective in the kitchen, outside of my Filet knives, and Bubba is my go to knife for it's utility and ability to hold an edge! Not a cheap blade, but for a comparable Japanese or German blade, an absolute bargain! Outside of some very trick butchering blades, that's about it!

plumberroy, duane and Thunder5Ranch like this.
  3. Thunder5Ranch

Thunder5Ranch Monkey+++

That looks remarkably like my Nesco dehydrators that everyone makes fun of :)

plumberroy, duane and SB21 like this.
  4. SB21

SB21 Monkey+++

Don't know the name of mine ,, but it looks just like mine also .
    And yes ,, my everyday carry blade ,, whichever one I happen to be carrying,, will get used for food prep , or eating,, if one is needed .

plumberroy and duane like this.
  5. plumberroy

plumberroy Monkey+

Yep Nesco I just got 2 more trays for it today setting on a shelf in the bedroom running right now