expiration dates

Discussion in 'Survival Medicine' started by crowdaddy, Jul 25, 2021.

1. crowdaddy

crowdaddy Monkey++

So a week ago last Friday, I had a stupid accident in my shop that left me with a punctured artery in my right hand. To make a really long story short, after super glue, and some quick clot(ish) powder; neither of which worked, nor did direct pressure, my son got it under control with one of those elastic tourniquets. Twelve ours and two hospitals later I was back home with a stitched up wrist (all better). I now have 3 new Israeli battle dressings, 2 CAT tourniquets and some other goodies.

My question is about Celox hemostatic agents. How critical is the expiration dates on these products? I have no experience with them and I will be getting some for my "new" FAK and Blow Out kit.

There's nothing like a little accident to motivate somebody. I will just leave you with this: there was enough blood in the bathroom for 2 bathrooms...
    ;

DuxDawg, Dunerunner, SB21 and 3 others like this.
  2. HK_User

HK_User A Productive Monkey is a Happy Monkey

Each package has a date, if you use one out of date then you are betting your life on the out come.

DKR, Dunerunner, SB21 and 2 others like this.
  3. Good point. But if you have a real emergency, and do not use the things available, you might be guaranteeing a bad outcome.

john316, SB21, crowdaddy and 2 others like this.
  4. One way to look at it is. If you are drowning. Would you use an old life jacket. Or wait till you can get a new one?

john316, DuxDawg, SB21 and 2 others like this.
  5. SB21

SB21 Monkey+++

Stock rotation is important. Maybe use the out of date stuff 1st ,, if it dont work,, grab a new one. Your lesson learned,, is a lesson for us all .
    Glad your ok.

6. chelloveck

chelloveck Diabolus Causidicus