filters pore size

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aardbewoner, Jul 16, 2019.

1. aardbewoner

aardbewoner judge a human on how he act,not on look and talk.

Wonder how to approximately calculate what size particles are stopped by what pore size-number of layers. Lets use a article that is the same around the world the pantyhose :) The denier is used for transparency but its a weight , denier is weight of 9000 meter yarn in gram. Must say I am a noob how that translate in pore size after its woven. And if you stretch it the go bigger. that happens if water/air speed increase but how much. As that have the risk that previous captured particles are released. Or use a more rigid weave like linen bedsheets, the problem stay how to find out the pore size.

Of course for the air I use hepa filters and 0.1 micron for water :) But want to know alternatives if teotwawki ever come.

2. HK_User

HK_User A Productive Monkey is a Happy Monkey

Alternative is sand and clay base mixed with sand or make a form and use clay and bake it for a chance at small sizes as a ceramic. Boil all water in make do filters.

Or just Prep and buy spares and read the directions for ceramic filters.

3. hot diggity

hot diggity Monkey+++ Site Supporter+++

I'd never considered what the pore size was in fabric filters. I use gradually finer filters, starting with window screen and finally large ceramic filters. (0.2 micron Berkey)

If a filter will remove all the color from coffee and koolaid, it seems to be working.

4. arleigh

arleigh Goophy monkey

My prep is coffee filters first , they are a cheap PRE filter, and good for more than coffee.
    Fabrics that you expect to clean between uses may not be cleaned enough and may support things that are questionable.
    Even if the fabric is a monofilament the places the fabric crosses one another can harbor debris and bacteria. It is best to have something expendable if you can that can not harbor bacteria.