Howdy, y'all!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by n7ekg, Nov 3, 2021.

1. n7ekg

n7ekg Monkey

Yes, I'm from the South, so I have a license to use the word howdy! :)

Short story, I've been a professional photographer, a cop in Texas, a software developer, manager, director, and VP, and now that I'm retired, a part-time day trader. I'm also been a ham since 1980 (now Extra class), and one of my last positions was as a VP of software development for a software cryptography firm in Dallas, so I know a little bit about the subject.

I've been a prepper since the 90's, and always looking to connect with like-minded souls. Unlike a lot of preppers, though, I'm not into religion, but I have my own spiritual beliefs. I've gotten into DMR over the last few years, and just got my hands on a BTech DMR-6x2 HT and a MMDVR that I've got runnin on a Pi 4B. Looking forward to going duplex - one of these on a tall hill, solar-powered with a stealth antenna, would make for a heckuva tiny DMR repeater. Add store-and-forward messaging capabilities, and I think it'd be an awesome resource for a community.

I'm looking into digging in with the crypto folks here about MonkeyNet - my previous work was with OTPs and I'm pretty familiar with validating crypto algos, NIST test suites, and Claude Shannon's work. :) My latest pet toy is bitmessage - a pretty cool, decentralized encrypted message transport. Would love to meet others interested in it - my bitmessage address is BM-2DB7fqvEKTc5jPPVs1KY7rPpfwZRrSCwYu. My PGP public key is also out on the public servers. :)

See y'all on the forums!

Last edited: Nov 3, 2021
    Gator 45/70, enloopious, GOG and 2 others like this.
  2. TinyDreams

TinyDreams Monkey++

Howdy, I’m from Texas as well! We have a few HAM enthusiasts on here and some good forum threads on a variety of topics. Feel free to pick a branch and poke around.

3. Dunerunner

Dunerunner Brewery Monkey Moderator