New Engine!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ura-Ki, Apr 15, 2019.

1. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

SO, being a Bush Pilot, i'm always playing with airplanes, building, modifying and generally doing hot rod stuff to make it fly better, handle well, and all those super fun things that bush pilots love to do!
    So, my Sorta Cub is a pretty sweet flyer, but, as a hot rod junky, i'm always looking to improve things!
    Old core Lycoming IO-360
    [​IMG]
    New ACE Performance kit AEIO- TQ-360!
    [​IMG]
    Still need to make an exhaust and install all the injection and ignition system, and take it to Hillsbobo to dyno it! SHould be in the 260 HP plus range!
    Here is the plane this is all going in!
    [​IMG]
    The old Rotax 130 HP has been removed in prep for the new monster build!

3M-TA3, Sapper John, TnAndy and 10 others like this.
  2. DKR

DKR Raconteur of the first stripe

Hell a upgrade from a Rotax....

sec_monkey, HK_User, oldman11 and 2 others like this.
  3. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

It's actually about 40 pounds lighter then the Rotax, Despite the prop being about 18 pounds heavier! Its also 428 Cubes now!!!
    Funny thing is, all this work is to Fly SLOWER, I.E. make super short and SLOW approaches, and to take off in the shortest distance possible!

3M-TA3, GOG, sec_monkey and 6 others like this.
  4. Bandit99

Bandit99 Monkey+++ Site Supporter+

WHOA! Double the horse power! Got to love technology when it can give you a boost like this.

sec_monkey, HK_User, oldman11 and 2 others like this.
  5. VisuTrac

VisuTrac Ваша мать носит военные ботинки Site Supporter+++

What's that .. like a 15k build for 260HP? I could build a chevy 355/375 HP for like 500 bucks?
    [sarc1]

seriously though, nice upgrade.

sec_monkey, HK_User and Gator 45/70 like this.
  6. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey