Trying to Help a Friend

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Seacowboys, Oct 8, 2018.

1. Seacowboys

Seacowboys Senior Member Founding Member

Three weeks ago, a friend dove into the shallow end of a pool and broke his neck. Jordan was 28 years old and yes, it was one of those "hold my beer and watch this" moments, I'm pretty sure. He drowned. His mother and step-father are dear friends of mine. I have been performing at their restaurant weekly for the past several months on Sunday evenings with my duo, Robbin' Crooks. Jordan's girlfriend thought he was joking, lying on the bottom for nearly three minutes before she jumped into the pool and brought him to the surface. A nurse that lived in their apartment complex, heard her screaming for help and they were able to remove him from the water, perform CPR and rescue breathing and call an ambulance. He had shattered two vertebrae in his neck and is paralyzed from from just below his shoulders. He has some minor movement of one arm but can't even scratch his face. The prognosis is not good, doctors saying he'll probably never walk again, however yesterday. much to everyone's delight, Jordan was able to move his left great toe. This seems like such a small event but is demonstrates that there is at least some communication between his brain and lower extremities and it gives hope. Hope is a miracle unto itself.
    Robbin Crooks is hosting a fund raising benefit on October 21rst at Yinzer's Brew and Grill in Daphne, Alabama to help with the tremendous medical costs. We have some of the Gulf Coast's finest performers that have volunteered their time to play, a huge Bake sale organized by the local Woman's Auxillary, a Poker Run organized by the local Bike Clubs, Silent Auctions, Raffles and a GOFUNDME account asking for donations to help out.