Adventures with Coturnix Quail

Discussion in 'The Green Patch' started by ditch witch, May 20, 2021.

1. ditch witch

ditch witch I do stupid crap, so you don't have to

I will preface this by saying I am by NO means an expert on raising Coturnix, having only gotten into them this year and still experiencing a large learning curve. Though they be birds, they are certainly not chickens nor do they behave as such. However, as I get attuned to their eccentricates and needs, I find myself thinking I should have gotten them a long time ago, and so I will share with you what I've learned so far.

I don't recall how I first came to second glance Coturnix, but whatever caught my attention held it through about a month's worth of watching every Youtube video I could find on raising them. Bred for domestic production, the Japanese Coturnix comes in a bit larger than native quail and takes to confinement substantially better. There are over a dozen colorations, each with it's own name, and even a Celedon that lays blue eggs, but typically the largest of the bunch are the Jumbo Wild and Texas A&M Whites. Myshire Farms records 14 oz at 10 weeks of age with their Jumbo Wild I believe. Feather sexing is possible on some color patterns, on others you'll have to vent sex, which involves turning them over and pushing where their vent is. If it's a male, he'll foam you. It's kinda gross. :D