alternative clothing made out of reindeer fur pelts.

Discussion in 'Back to Basics' started by Swedish woman, Jan 19, 2019.

1. Swedish woman

Swedish woman Monkey

Till today we buy our clothing in the city but the quality these days isn't that good anymore for bush living.
    We have lots of reindeer fur pelts laying on our furniture to sit on and for the warmth.
    The quality of the pelts is outstending, they are very strong and warm.
    Now ive the idea to make also our clothing from those fur pelts beacause the good quality and warmth.
    Are here some who have experience with alternative clothing made out of fur pelts and special made out of reindeer pelts?
    Is it worth to make clothes out of fur pelts and how does it wear, is it comfortable to wear fur clothes all day?

Quote Reply
    Report Edit

2. SB21

SB21 Monkey+++

I have no real experience in the matter , but I'm sure if the pelt from some animals was tanned properly , it could be strong , warm , and quite comfortable .

3. Motomom34

Motomom34 Monkey+++

I do not believe most would want to wear pelt clothing all day unless they lived in a zone where it was cold, really cold. I have a fur coat that I rarely wear because it is too warm most of the year. I think fur booties would be a good think to have. Maybe a fur-lined moccasin would be something you could make and sell. Peoples feet get colder before there torso.

4. AxesAreBetter

AxesAreBetter Monkey+++

I have worn some leather while buckskinning. Searching "mountain man" patterns will certainly get you some results on making cloths out of skins. As mentioned, particularly in colder climates, pelts rock.

5. arleigh

arleigh Goophy monkey

Leather pants are not all that comfortable in an active environment however chaps are ideal .
    The crotch is the tough part ,sewing it for one thing and wearing and maintaining is another .
    Then there is keeping them clean and cleaning them too. This is why chaps work out best.