Any land in the US the goverment doesn't own?

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by Bgeary, Sep 5, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bgeary

Bgeary Monkey

Now I'm very new to the off the grid possibility and hopefully research and find ways to get involved with a already established community which I'm finding out to be very rare but that being said what is the laws on owning land in the US? Does the government actually still own the land or is there places this country where its off limits for them meaning the land/property is all yours.

2. Gator 45/70

Gator 45/70 Monkey+++

Land is never all yours Cap, Taxes, Taxes,Taxes

Bgeary likes this.
  3. Dunerunner

Dunerunner Brewery Monkey Moderator

Perhaps, Alaska...

4. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

You "Own" Nothing, a Title, Bill of sale, or Deed is only good as long as no one wants to take what you have from you!
    Be very wary of certain Congresscriters, they are working very vear hard to make private land ownership a thing of the past, and seizing all private held lands!
    Ironically, the Fed Gov under the constitution cannot OWN any land outside the capital of D.C. and certain Military installations! The very act of seizures is unconstitutional, as are Property Taxes, the IRS and the BLM!

STANGF150, Gator 45/70 and oldawg like this.
  5. Bgeary

Bgeary Monkey

Are we saying it's possible to not pay taxes to the government at all? I already know payroll tax/income tax isn't legal but we are still forced to pay taxes from our paychecks right? What about BLM? Be very careful with your answer.

Ura-Ki likes this.
  6. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

Nope, it's all state, tribal, or fed owned. @BTPost will clarify, but I think "owned" land is actually long term leased.

Gator 45/70 and Dunerunner like this.
  7. Dunerunner

People go to prison for tax evasion. If you pursue that course, you invite the wrath of the IRS, and they are relentless.