Any trouble with American Eagle ammo?

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by AxesAreBetter, Feb 13, 2016.

Tags:
  1. AxesAreBetter

AxesAreBetter Monkey+++

Howdy y'all. Went out shooting today, and loaded a .357 down with American Eagle half jacket hollows, and in one cylinder, I had two failures to fire, and what looked like weak strikes on the primers...

I've been shooting this gun for over ten years, got bookoo thousands of rounds through it, and this is the first time it has EVER misfired for any reason...

Loaded up a full cylinder of some other brand, and ran it like a race gun...no hickups, solid primer strikes. Any thoughts?

2. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

Bad batch of primers.... Do you still have the Box, for the Ammo? If so, tear off the DateCode, and mail it with the two Unloaded MissFire Cases, back to the OEM. They will Replace the Box and usually the Postage as well...

3M-TA3, Cruisin Sloth and Motomom34 like this.
  3. AxesAreBetter

AxesAreBetter Monkey+++

I''ll see if I can find them. I just wasn't sure what to think.

4. BTPost

Most OEMs will look at the information, and inspect the Primers.... Then trace the Primer Lot back to the Primer OEM, and get a handle, on how many failure to fire Reports, came back for that LOT.. If it is more than 3% then they usually will Recall the Lot, and ALL the Ammo, that was loaded with that lot of Primers, with 1000% Refund to the buyers...

3M-TA3, Yard Dart, AD1 and 1 other person like this.
  5. AxesAreBetter

AxesAreBetter Monkey+++

Appreciate it.

6. Altoidfishfins

Altoidfishfins Monkey+++ Site Supporter+

About three years ago I had a single round out of a box of factory .308 American Eagle that wouldn't chamber. Looking closely at the rim it was bent back toward the bolt face all the way around, effectively making the cartridge case too long.