Anyone ever have this happen?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CRC, Feb 15, 2006.

1. CRC

CRC Survivor of Tidal Waves | RIP 7-24-2015 Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

So...I made an online purchase last night...something I do frequently.

I use a PO Box for everything...even my drivers license has it on it..NOTHING has my real address...Not my credit cards, checks, utility bills, etc....So if they don't ship to PO Boxes, I send it to work.....

I get an email today from this company...saying because I had a different "ship to" address...they want me to fax a COPY, FRONT & BACK of my credit card...AND my Drivers license....AND...are you ready? My Social Security #!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hit the ceiling! I told them I worked in banking before and am very aware of how fraud works...and also , I provided them with a work number..How about just call me back there? Or I would give them any other info...but I was NOT faxing that!

Have y'all ever heard of this before? Anywhere?

Frankly, I was floored.....

I cancelled the order...told them I sent a copy of the email to my financial institution and the City Police, simply because they requested private information! (and I did!)

He got really snippy with me and ended up hanging up on me...

When I found another company that had what I wanted..I placed a phone order...and I told them I had "issues" with another online company that sold the same items and wanted to be safe......

The name out of this guys mouth, was the first company I ordered from! He said they get a lot of business that refuses to do buisness with the first one...

I found this applalling!

Anyone else ever have this kind of experience??

I'm curious now.....

thanks..

2. sniper-66

sniper-66 Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

Yep, happened to me recently, almost exactly the same thing.

3. ColtCarbine

ColtCarbine Monkey+++ Founding Member

Can't say that has happened to me. I'd do the same, by cancelling my order.