anyone try chiller technology?

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by VisuTrac, Jul 18, 2011.

1. VisuTrac

VisuTrac Ваша мать носит военные ботинки Site Supporter+++

Ok, Maybe I'm hanging out here on this branch all by my monkey self but I'm seriously looking at creating an absorption chiller system either using ammonia or the lithium bromide.

My goal, use waste heat or this damn heat wave we are having (and will continue to have if global weirding causes me to roast my chestnuts off) to drive an electric-less cooling solution for my house and for possible food storage but more likely air conditioning.

So that being said, has anyone tried to DIY or know of a packaged product that could condition a 1200sq. ft ranch style home?

TIA.
    [coffee2]

2. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

I have some experience with lith bro. What I've never seen is an absorption unit that would run without pumps, meaning needing power. The coefficient of performance isn't too favorable especially in small units. You have to have waste heat to make them run economically. One might think of a sterling engine running off a tracking solar concentrator for starters on the power end of things. Not gonna be cheap, and I'm not convinced that climate heating is a long term trend that would make it pay off.

You might also consider the sterling to run a genny with enough snort to charge batteries via a gennie so you could have cool air when the sun sets.

Lith bro works well in the multi hundred ton capacity with waste steam. I know nothing of ammonia other than I'd rather not have a leak. Lith bro is funny stuff, it'll shrink leather right on your foot and curl your toes. Don't ask --

3. greenebelly

greenebelly Monkey+