Blackberry Plants

Discussion in 'The Green Patch' started by azrancher, Jan 6, 2016.

1. azrancher

azrancher Monkey +++

2. AxesAreBetter

AxesAreBetter Monkey+++

We have them wild around here. Dewberries and Blackberries are considered the same thing around here as well, but they are different, and come in a few weeks apart in my AO. Particularly if you are planting them in rows where you don't have to reach in through a tangle of tree, briars, muscadine, and go knows what to reach them, I wouldn't see any difference between thorned vs unthorned.

pearlselby likes this.
  3. pearlselby

pearlselby Monkey++

Dont likes this.
  4. TXKajun

TXKajun Monkey+++

Down here in SENM, I've been babying along some blackberry canes for several years. The ones that survived and are thriving are the ones right next to the sprinkler head and a couple under the drip pan of our window a/c unit. They like water. Lots of water.

Kajun

Motomom34 likes this.
  5. azrancher

azrancher Monkey +++

Well I've bought from this guy in TX before, he ignores the fact that several states don't allow certain fruit and nut trees to be imported, I think it goes back to old school disease control in the 50's, we no longer have produce inspection stations, CA still does...

What a waste of taxpayers dollars.

Rancher

6. Mindgrinder

Mindgrinder Karma Pirate Ninja|RIP 12-25-2017

Pretty invasive and hard to get rid of in my AO.
    If they aint natural there - I'd think 10x aboot planting them.
    Goats like'em - thorns and all....but they spread like crazy.

Tully Mars, Motomom34 and Yard Dart like this.
  7. Yard Dart

Yard Dart Vigilant Monkey Moderator

Up here in the NW, blackberries are invasive and can become very troublesome. I would suggest that if you want to go with blackberries and your AO will support them (water could be a factor for the AZ neighborhood), plant them on the edges of your property to create a defensive barrier like we do up here.