Blood pressure without equiptment

Discussion in 'Survival Medicine' started by MO titmouse, May 14, 2007.

1. MO titmouse

MO titmouse Mrs monkeyman

I had read a post a while back on useing the cuff to take BPs in survival situations and it seemed strange to me to rely on the equiptment in a survival situation where it may not be available. I work in the medical field and had learned several years ago how to take BPs without a cuff and realized most people may not know about it so thought it would be good to share.

You take the pulse in the right curotic arterey and the rate per minute is the sistolic then take the pulse on the left side and the rate there is the distolic. It should always be within about 2 points on each of what you would get with the cuff.

This can come in very handy if the arms are to messed up to be able to do anything there or if you dont have a cuff.

2. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

This tribe will have a cuff, I promise.

3. phishi

phishi Psy-Ops Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

MO Titmouse: I have never heard of this method and am having some trouble understanding how or why it would work. Could you post how you came across this info please? Link to an article or journal would be great.

My opinion: While I believe that a stethoscope and BP cuff are easily obtainable and easily learned, I can understand MO titmouse's point concerning what one would do when they are not present.

My response is two fold: First, while BP is part of the vital signs and important to know and track, it is less important than pulse and respiration rate. It can help identify a high blood pressure (hypertension) or low blood pressure (hypotension, possibly shock from blood loss), but each of these could be identified by other symptoms which do not rely on a BP cuff. The real question IMO is what you would do to treat what you have discovered. If the answer is "not much I could do", well maybe you were better off not knowing....