Carving Driftwood as a pasttime

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DKR, Oct 9, 2016.

1. DKR

DKR Raconteur of the first stripe

Not exactly a survival skill, but as Sir Gilbert once penned - What is Life without a touch of Art?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    I know I don't post a lot of original content to the site (shame on me) so...

My SIL - a plumber by trade and an artist by desire and talent - is working a project in remote Bush Alaska - where the Yukon river meets the sea.
    There is a forest of driftwood on the shoreline, so to fill the little time between knocking off work for the day and hitting the rack - he has been carving driftwood. This piece is over 5 feet long....

FWIW - last winter he took up ice carving on a lark - and his work was featured on local TV. He and a couple of buds have dominated the local snow carving competition at the Fur Rondy for the last few years.

The team? A plumber, a carpenter and and US Air Force Intel officer (and long time bud) they know.. Tradesman = Artist? Yes. Yes they are.

Thought I'd share.

2. Dunerunner

Dunerunner Brewery Monkey Moderator

Nice Raven....

That's a $1000 sculpture, right there!!

Aeason, john316, Sgt Nambu and 2 others like this.
  3. DKR

[​IMG]
    His winning dragon.

His wife (my daughter) is no slouch by any means - here is her water drop-let
    [​IMG]

Gator 45/70, GOG, Aeason and 8 others like this.
  4. Sgt Nambu

Sgt Nambu RIP 4/19/2018

Perhaps not a survival skill, in its self! I would think you could finance quite a set of survival gear with those skills! You could supplement your retirement very nicely, too.

Beautiful work, there!

Last edited: Oct 10, 2016
    Aeason, john316, Ura-Ki and 1 other person like this.
  5. SB21

SB21 Monkey+++

Very nice work . I'd love to have that gift .

Aeason and Ganado like this.
  6. Ganado

Ganado Monkey+++

@DKR you post the best stuff, nice work for both of them! and your history lessons are awesome! Never back down!

7. chelloveck