Checking intrest

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by monkeyman, Oct 10, 2005.

1. monkeyman

monkeyman Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

I was just wanting to find out how much interest there is here in home butchering. I'm no expert and dint normally do every cut just like you would buy at the store but have been butchering the majority of the meat we eat for a few years now and do fine on at least getting the T-bones (I count porterhouses as T-bones also since its the same thing with a piece of tender loin added), round steaks, ribs, various roasts and burger. There is a post in the 'back to basics' section of 'survival' here for those interested but also if folks have read that and are interested in more info I just may be able to do a kind of photo tutorial late this month or early next month. I have a steer that we will be butchering as well as that I plan to hit the auction and so on to get some pigs and maybe a sheep, we did several chickens today and will likely do them a couple more times this fall, and we will be doing our fall routine of butchering up a lot of meat which is then replenished a bit in the spring to last us through the year. If there is much interest in it and questions that aren't answered in the article/tutorial in back to basics I'm thinking I may try to have pics taken as we go through this process and post them with notes, but not sure if this would help anyone much beyond what else is posted or if there is even much interest in it. The big reason we like it so much is economics. As long as we butcher our selves and look for good buys we are able to eat top grade meats regularly like loads of inch thick T-bones on a shoestring budget, aside from the rare stuff we buy at the store for a particular meal, I dint think any meat in our freezer in the last couple of years has run more than 50 cents/pound. That means even with next to no money coming in we can afford to eat steak and pork chops at least 5 days a week or