Chicken & Oyster Mushrooms are Out

Discussion in 'The Green Patch' started by Kathy in WV, Jun 19, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Kathy in WV

Kathy in WV Just runnin' the ridges...

I've picked chicken and oyster mushrooms both this week in WV so if you're near by be on the lookout! Have not seen Hen of the Woods yet..... happy hunting! (y)

2. tacmotusn

tacmotusn RIP 1/13/21

Kathy, I am sure quite a few of us here at SM would love more info on herbal medicine and remedies. As for the wild edibles, pictures along with warnings of look alike non-edible varieties would be very helpful also.

Gator 45/70 likes this.
  3. Kathy in WV

Sure, I would be happy to post pics or answer any questions that I can. I'm not an expert by any means, just a person trying to learn as much as possible before I need to know it! I already cooked the chicken mushroom (lol) but I have pics of a few different kinds from last year that I can post. I don't know if I have enough posts for full priviledges to post pics yet... I will have to see.

4. tacmotusn

tacmotusn RIP 1/13/21

You only need 5 posts to be off probationary member, and you have that. If you have any problems posting your pictures, ask for help on the chatbox here at SM. Someone there will surely be able to talk you thru it. I myself am a clutz at much of this computer stuff. I have quite a library on herbal remedies and no practical knowledge what so ever.:oops:... so any tips and help would be highly appreciated.

5. tacmotusn

tacmotusn RIP 1/13/21

those are three awesome mushroom pictures. I have never picked any but morels of the various color variations in Ohio as a child or young man. I do miss those tasty morsels. I will print out your pictures in full color for reference and future cooking delights

6. Kathy in WV

MY eyes are not real good and I have a terrible time finding morels because they blend in so well with the ground. I love their flavor and dream about stumbling onto a huge patch (never happens) lol

7. tacmotusn