Critical Thinking

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cjsloane, Jun 11, 2014.

1. cjsloane

cjsloane Monkey

Time to start a thread devoted to this subject! Critical thinking is no longer taught in school, and the 7 liberal arts are not longer part of a liberal arts degree in college, so we must all be self-taught.

What I'm interested in discussing is the 7 liberal arts, liberal meaning a free man not political leaning.
    These are made up of the Trivium (Grammar, Logic, Rhetoric) and Quadrivium (Math, Music, Geometry, Astronomy). I think Logical Fallicies fits with this topic but is so big it may deserve is own thread.

2. cjsloane

cjsloane Monkey

chelloveck likes this.
  3. chelloveck

chelloveck Diabolus Causidicus

The Faith and Religion Forum is a minefield of logical fallacies to pull apart and dissect....um....more like a cluster bomb range of logical fallacy UXO's. Pick any random thread there and you'll find the gamut of logical fallacies to identify and defuse: if one only had the time and patience for the task.

On the Trivium subject of Rhetoric, the following YouTube clip is one of my favourites.

tulianr, Georgia_Boy and cjsloane like this.
  4. cjsloane

cjsloane Monkey

Well that makes sense since Faith & Religion is not based on logic but... faith.

Sapper John, oldawg and Brokor like this.
  5. Brokor

Brokor Live Free or Cry Moderator Site Supporter+++ Founding Member

I am all for the trivium. I also think a special call for civility to come into play here, especially with respects toward the feelings and beliefs of others who post on these forums. Present valid arguments, fine. Be civil, fine. We should be good to go.

tulianr, Georgia_Boy, kellory and 3 others like this.
  6. chelloveck