E-book Reader

Discussion in 'Survival Reading Room' started by Hispeedal2, Jul 25, 2010.

1. Hispeedal2

Hispeedal2 Nay Sayer

This seems like the appropriate place to ask...

Anyone here using an E-book reader? What type and why?

I am interested in getting one with maximum format capability. Everything from PDF to word documents. What should I look for?

2. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

iPad.

Does all you list above +plus.

The kindle folks are making an advert campaign out of the fact that the screen glare in the sunlight is bad. My answer would be to just not take it to the beach.

I do not have one (yet) but Craftymofo does-- maybe he'll chime in.

3. CraftyMofo

CraftyMofo Monkey+++

I've been using the iPad for a few months now. I have to say that it does everything I need it for, and does it very well. I haven't turned my pc on a single time since bringing the iPad home.

Over the fourth of July, I downloaded 4 books on the kindle app. I buzzed right thru them, and really enjoyed them. Most of my time reading was inside my cabin at night and on the porch during the day. I didn't have any issues with glare, but I wasn't sitting on the beach either. To me, each of these devices has strengths and weaknesses. For some, the kindle has superior readability. I happen to like the ability to surf the net easily, and the applications the iPad has to offer.

You can also try a netbook instead, if you want to save a few bucks. I think the iPad screen is superior to any netbook I have seen. Like most things from Apple, the engineering and interface is top shelf.

4. kckndrgn

kckndrgn Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

I have 2 co-workers with E-Book readers, one has a Kindle the other a Nook. Both like them.