Economic Evidence from Main Street

Discussion in 'Financial Cents' started by melbo, Apr 4, 2010.

Tags:
  1. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

We keep hearing about recovery and green shoots. What do you see in this recession/depression from a Main Street perspective?

We as a species tend to acclimate quickly to new environments and conditions. We also tend to think that now is normal and forget about what things were like before now.

4 years ago, I scaled back in my Home building business because I could see the housing crash coming. I went from 5, 6 or 10 homes at a time to one at a time and finished out my final year as a General Contractor with only 2 homes built. I was a spec builder and did very little custom work. 95% of the other builders I'd run into at the coffee shop or lumber yard thought I was out of my mind and giving up money that was still to be made. Almost all of those that kept riding the wave and believing things would always continue to grow are flat broke now.

I got out with a hurt paw and the others got hit by the garbage truck.

I look around at the people I know and see the changes that have happened in the past 3-4 years and it's staggering if I keep in mind where they were before.

My parents used to cruise the Caribbean 6-7 months of the year. They now live in one of the homes that I never sold and can't afford to pull their boat out of the water to perform some routine maintenance. They have recently finished off the basement of that home so my Uncle and family can move in. Uncle lost his job as a Drive train engineer in Detroit and rode out the 18 months of foreclosure before eviction. What a family reunion that is...

My brother lost just about everything and is now struggling to keep afloat by buying and selling wrecked cars. He was forced to auction off 14 properties last year at a loss.