Electric from any fuel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by StirlingWoodPower, Oct 17, 2015.

1. StirlingWoodPower

StirlingWoodPower Neophyte Monkey

I am a design engineer from a cogeneration company. I am trying to do market research on a product I would like to kick start on a crowd funding platform called KickStarter.

I want to see if there is a market for a product that can make electricity and heat from any pelletized fuel source. Wood, rice coal, corn, or even wood chips will work. Options for gaseous fuel are also possible. Another option could be an outdoor boiler that uses standard logs. I just need my heat source to reach 800degF or higher and I can produce electricity and heat for a dwelling.

The power generation technology is an existing commercialized sealed sterling engine that requires zero maintenance. The power output could either be off grid oriented or it could be grid tied similar to solar. The product would make electricity and heat at the same time, so one could heat their home and power it using many different fuels.

Please lend me your honest opinion and ideas so I can try to come up with the right product that can change how we power the world.

2. Ganado

Ganado Monkey+++

Some questions. are you saying it will start with a pelltized fuel source? meaning we have to make or buy the pellets 1st? I only ask because that means $$ or one more step in the process. Which for me would not be worth it.

if the goal is to power the world then the fewer steps, the more efficient it is in terms of man power and time. True off grid living takes alot more time and manual labor than most people think. so anything you can do to reduce man hours and increase efficiency while decreasing cost will always be welcome.

If I missed understood on the peletization then could you explain a bit more.

3. VisuTrac

VisuTrac Ваша мать носит военные ботинки Site Supporter+++

Wouldn't that be a Stirling engine as opposed to a sterling engine?