food storage and how..

Discussion in 'Back to Basics' started by ezbite, Jul 2, 2011.

1. ezbite

ezbite 5miles from mosquito lake

im sure its been posted here before but i can seem to find it. im going to be storing dry food such as beans, rice, etc in 5 gallon buckets, i want to use a food grade bag inside of my buckets, where can i get that bag. i also saw someone added nitrogen because its heaver than air. wouldnt the bags be better because of the double layer of protection?? im new to the long term storage and i am storing the dried food in new home depot 5 gallon buckets with the snap on lids. any ideas where i can find these bags, do you think there a good idea?

2. beast

beast backwoodsman

beans, rice, corn, wheat dont need the bags
    as long as they are kept cool and dry they keep long long times

3. ezbite

ezbite 5miles from mosquito lake

so storage in home depot orange 5 gal buckets will work? ive read i should use some kind of food grade plastic bag too. i always thought if kept cool and dry it'll be ok. guess ill just seal em up and see.

4. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

You should pump Nitrogen in first to remove the O2, BEFORE you seal the bags up for Long Term Storage. It is cheap, and heavier than Air so it will displace the Oxygen easily. Oxygen is a Food Spoolier.....

5. dewber

dewber Monkey+

I know a guy who does the same with CO2 based on the same principle. He also stores his with a pan of dessicant near it to keep the humidity down.

6. kckndrgn

kckndrgn Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member