frankenAK

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by mage2, Jun 16, 2009.

1. mage2

mage2 Monkey+++

So friends, my journey to becoming a AKbuilder and a AKowner has come to a head.

After much blood, sweat,tears(metal splinters HURT), and dollars. I am on the final stage of my AK build. Thanks to all here that have supported and helped me with this bastard of a build.

I think everything that could go wrong in a AK build happened to me at least twice. But my final step is to finish the receiver. I have had it blasted with sand and am planning on a parkerizing it and maybe painting it with some form of duracoat after the park.

I have also attached a picture of my frankenAK.

Its a receiver from a board member(yes bent to fit in the box ;), a stock and rear trunnion from yet another board member, combined with Tapco 922R parts and the parts kit from a AMD-65. Thank you all again for all your help with this.

Let me know what you think. Its my first build.
    frankenAKsm.

2. The Expendable

The Expendable Bread and Circus Master

It looks awesome! I wouldn't paint it. I'd leave it as is. Have you shot it yet?

3. mage2

mage2 Monkey+++

as seen in my other post, the one mag i have failed so not yet. I dont have much free time but I hope this weekend to do 2 things
    A) go to local gun show (saxet in austin) and get me some more STEEL mags and ammo

B) make it to range to blast the hell out of it.

Right now the receiver is raw steel, so it could rust. I need to do something to protect it from the elements.

I am happy with how it turned out though.

Do you think a park treatment would do it right?

4. The Expendable

My understanding of parkerizing is that it will not work on certain steels (stainless or with too much nickel in it). The gun looks amazing, so I can only assume that you know what you're doing. I would defer to your expertise.