Got it!

Discussion in 'Survival Communications' started by Bandit99, Jan 14, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Bandit99

Bandit99 Monkey+++ Site Supporter+

So, I finally got my finger out, as started studying 1 January. I studied hard for the past two weeks and took the Extra Exam this evening and passed it. I missed 5 (90%). It sort of ticked me as thought I would do better cause I put a lot into it but that question pool is big...so I'll take the passing grade and smile. :)

I am not sure if I will even get a radio but, if I do, it will be probably be that iCom 7100 or 7300.

Anyway, this is something I always wanted to do and couldn't because I was overseas all those years, so hit a milestone today.

2. techsar

techsar Monkey+++

Congrats!

Don't forget the IC-9100 if you want a shack in a box ;)

sec_monkey and Bandit99 like this.
  3. Salted Weapon

Salted Weapon Monkey+++

What lic is that ?

4. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

Congrats!!! Let @BTPost know your call, he's keeping a list of monkey hams if you want to. Or put it out here if you aren't too concerned with OPSEC. Let us know what rig you wind up with. You will find that a good antenna will make any rig perform better..

5. ghrit

Ham radio operator ticket.

6. Salted Weapon

Salted Weapon Monkey+++

Awww ok, been awhile since I looked into this myself.

Bandit99 likes this.
  7. ghrit

And you are waiting for ==== ;)

8. Salted Weapon

Salted Weapon Monkey+++

The proverbial invitation:rolleyes:.
    I have two radios that I can't operate " legally so been meaning to get it done I have the book, and there is test place local.
    So probably me just being slow on the go with it. Just seeing this post made me go, oh yea..

9. Bandit99

@techsar "Don't forget the IC-9100 if you want a shack in a box"
    Holy smokes! That sucker is $3000 bucks! Not sure I can jump in that deep yet...LOL!

EDIT: Okay, found it for $2200 at DX Engineering...but that's still a pretty deep pool to jump into...