Grandpa Patch

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Grandpa Patch, Oct 14, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Grandpa Patch

Grandpa Patch Monkey+

Hello everyone. I am new to this message board, prepping, the idea of getting my family ready for things that can possibly happen due to "Mother Nature" and other problems that can rise from civil issues.

I have carried, and still do, some form of basic EDC (Every Day Carry) items for all of my adult life. Only recently, within the last year, have I started to really pay attention to the weight, space and utility of what I carry. For a major part of my life (with the exception of the Marine Corps where I had to carry way too much) a Mag-Lite, Leatherman, and handgun was the extent of my EDC. Leathermans have turned into Gerber and newer Leathermans plus a few OPMT's (One Piece Multi Tool), my handgun list has changed a bit and some small but useful things have all been added to a belt pouch (minus handgun) that goes everywhere I go (almost). Almost is due to various areas, zones or government buildings that restrict/prohibit weapons.

Then of course there is the "No Weapons Allowed" signs that are popping up just about everywhere. These posted signs constitute a "Reasonable Request" so even a CCW (Concealed Carry Weapon) permit is useless in these areas. I live in Arizona, which is an open carry and concealed without permit allowed state, and still I can't walk into McDonald's due to these signs. My attitude towards businesses that have these signs posted is "If I can't carry my weapon, then I can't carry my wallet either."

Anyways, a simple Google search and I found this (and many others that I didn't join) message board. I am looking forward to meeting the members, gathering as much information as possible that is applicable to me and hopefully be able to share some things that I have learned in life.

Motomom34, Dont, tacmotusn and 7 others like this.
  2. Bishop

Bishop Monkey+++