Greeting from Virginia

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chunky Monkey, Dec 17, 2010.

1. Chunky Monkey

Chunky Monkey Monkey+

Hello all. Just joined. I've been prepping for a couple years now. But there are a lot of knowns and unknowns.

"There are known knowns; there are things we know we know. We also know there are known unknowns; that is to say we know there are some things we do not know. But there are also unknown unknowns -- the ones we don't know we don't know." -D.R.

Guess I'm here to see if I can find any bite you in the ass unknown unknowns.

2. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

Oh, I'd count on it.

Give us an idea of how far you think you have your bases covered and I'm sure a few will jump in and show you any holes.

3. Joseph Thomas

Joseph Thomas Monkey+

Welcome. I'm pretty new here to. Good qoute, reflects my feelings for preparedness exactly.

4. Chunky Monkey

Chunky Monkey Monkey+

Let's see, I am in suburbia. I've laid in a good supply of food, water, a few non-infringable items, and of course TP.

I have a gas SUV, for what it's worth, and a dog as a backup alarm.

Working on improving storage organization, and candles for backup light, and looking into water filtration and purification systems but know little.

What I know I don't have BOL, backup electricity, backup heat if natural gas stops, a supply of gas for SUV, a defensible location, or like minded community.

I do not have a sustainable source for fresh water, space for food crops, fuel for heat or cooking.

I am basically prepared as long as things don't get too bad. But I'm somewhat hitting a brick wall. I'm feeling like I have essentially done what I can do. Big ticket items are out of my reach at this time, and I'm locked into my location. But I've probably missed some things that are doable, and didn't see some alternative strategies.

Thoughts?

5. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member