Hello everyone. I'm taking the plunge

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by Drbanner, Jan 25, 2016.

1. Drbanner

Drbanner Monkey

im new here and will be new to going off grid but hopefully you folks will help.
    I have 3.4 acres on a 30 acre lot. The other lots are owned by my buddy and his family.
    We have to put a road in and clear some building sites this spring summer. I'm planning to build with 3 shipping containers on top of a cinder block basement.
    Even the basemen/cinder block will be above ground. My 1st choice building site is in a low section of land with a steep 20foot ridge behind it. I'd like to have a live rooftop deck that walks to the ridge.
    Flat live roof with wind solar and a well/septic.
    Still in the design stages so all advice is welcome.
    What type of septic is easiest?
    Anything you would do now that is worth mentioning?

Help? Be gentle

2. Drbanner

Drbanner Monkey

Worth mentioning is that I'm a licensed welder. My buddy is a plumber our other friend is an electrician so we are trying to do this all without hiring labour.

3. Altoidfishfins

Altoidfishfins Monkey+++ Site Supporter+

Welcome to the tree.
    Don't know much about construction so any advice I'd be giving would likely be bogus. However, you may want to look at these construction materials ...
    EF Block, Earth Friendly Building Materials--ICF Blocks - EF Block ICF Blocks, similar to cinder block but much lighter, and is rated at R-33 insulation value.
    Airlight panels, Wanessa-Sue, Inc. | AIRLIGHT Building Panels™- Owned & Operated by Veterans, pre cut panels that lock together to form walls. Submit a floor plan and they return a kit. All panels are numbered for assembly on-site. These require no concrete for the walls and are rated at R-30 insulation value.

Drbanner, kellory and chelloveck like this.
  4. kellory

kellory An unemployed Jester, is nobody's fool. Banned

Welcome, and good luck with your project.

Drbanner likes this.