home schooling questions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cool hand luke, Mar 8, 2011.

1. cool hand luke

cool hand luke Monkey+

Let me first say that I'm not trying to start a fight or offend anyone, I've asked this before in other forums and never really gotten an answer.

A little background, my wife teaches in the public school system in Texas, I'm a civil engineer. Before we had kids we talked about homeschooling. I felt very confident that my wife with her degree in elementary education could handle all teaching assignments up to middle school. In middle school I could help with the math and science, and we'd probably be good. However, we both agreed that while there were certain subjects we could teach at a high school level (math and physics for me, history and geography for her) there were just to many areas we aren't qualified to teach at that level.

Then our oldest son was born with Aspergers syndrome, and homeschooling would be about the very worst thing we could do for him, so all the discussion was pointless anyway.

So, here's my questions.
    What makes you qualified to teach your kids? To what level and what subjects are you competent in.

I ask this because several of our friends homeschool, and, I can honestly say that 2 of the 3 couples I know very well are not well educated, and have horrid english and mathematics skills.

They often answer, "there our kids, we know them best" which honestly seems like either a cop out or an incredibly poorly thought out reason. You know your kid best, great! Do you do there dental work? What if they need an appendix removed? Why do you trust there education to someone with no training, but not there health care?

2. Brokor

Brokor Live Free or Cry Moderator Site Supporter+++ Founding Member