Homemade Sourdough Soft Pretzels (giant)

Discussion in 'Recipes' started by Brokor, Sep 28, 2015.

1. Brokor

Brokor Live Free or Cry Moderator Site Supporter+++ Founding Member

This is my first time actually making homemade soft pretzels.
    Final results: Critical success!

Recipe - Use your flour of choice. I went with about 2 1/2 cups. Next, get out your sourdough starter and add about 2/3rd cup. A few teaspoons of baking powder, 1/2 tsp of salt, a splash of milk, about 1 or 2 Tbsp sugar, roughly a squirt or two of your favorite wild honey, and 1/2 packet of yeast with warm water.

Don't prepare this next part until your pretzels are made and setting up (rising) for about 30 minutes:
    You will also need a few cups of water inside a saucepan, brought to a light boil, add about 1 Tbsp of molasses and boil for a few minutes. Then add 1/4 cup of baking soda (Arm & Hammer) SLOWLY, and make sure you keep room in the pan because it will expand for a few seconds.

Salt: I used coarse sea salt, but you can use actual pretzel salt, too.

DSC00020.JPG
    This is my sourdough starter. There are many like it, but this one is MINE!

Prepare your ingredients

You guys know how to mix dough and add some flour to get a nice, slightly tacky ball of goodness. Lightly oil a bowl and add your dough ball, set on the stove to rise for one hour or so. (Stove should be preheating about now at 400 degrees. Turn up to 450 just before baking)
    DSC00011.JPG
    My dough is rising, slowly...

After it has risen, take it out and pat the oil from the bottom of the dough with a paper towel, place onto a board and cut it up into parts. How many and size are up to you, but I like bigger.
    DSC00012.JPG
    Dough cut into sections...