how do i know if a area has plentiful game?

Discussion in 'Turf and Surf Hunting and Fishing' started by bunkerguy, Jun 22, 2012.

1. bunkerguy

bunkerguy Monkey

I am thinking about buying some land, how do i know if a area has pentiful game? what state has the most game?

2. JABECmfg

JABECmfg multi-useless

Depends what you mean by game.

If you mean animals that you can hunt and eat, I would say that Alaska probably has the most, because it's the biggest state, and is relatively undeveloped. (Wilderness = wildlife, right?)

If you're asking which state has the most "game" in a more urban-slang manner, then I'm afraid I can't help you. Rap stars have been arguing this point for years, and while I'm no expert on rap, there appears to be little or no agreement on the subject - although the east and west coasts in general seem to be the most commonly referenced.

(Sorry, I couldn't resist.) [melbo]

Brokor, Redneck Rebel and tulianr like this.
  3. groovy mike

groovy mike Immortal

How do you know? Go look.

The easiest thing to see - besides the animals themselves are tracks, beds, and scat left behind. If there are enough tracks to make a trail - there are a lot of animals or a few using that path often.

One moose can outweigh a LOT of squirrels but there are likely to be far more squirrels......

4. dragonfly

dragonfly Monkey+++

Easy...
    Contact the areas game and fish deparment!
    They know what game is where and the amount/s.

5. CATO

CATO Monkey+++

You could look and see if the Indians are fat. If you can see their ribs, they are vegetarians or have very little game. (y)

Cephus, Quigley_Sharps and JABECmfg like this.
  6. DKR

DKR Raconteur of the first stripe

LOL

Check with your insurance company - see many claims they pay out for vehicle - deer/moose/elk/raccoon/etc collisions and what area has the highest pay out.

BTW hunting in Alaska is problematic without an aircraft.

Quigley_Sharps and tulianr like this.
  7. BTPost