I had been doing things the hard way all along

Discussion in 'Back to Basics' started by hot diggity, Jan 23, 2019.

1. hot diggity

hot diggity Monkey+++ Site Supporter+++

I learned how to tie my shoes the right way when I was 55. Mom didn't learn how to open a banana without a knife until she was 82.

So many things that folks think they are doing correctly, are just wrong... or at least not the best/easiest/most efficient way. I see shooters daily who have owned rifles and pistols for years without knowing how to lock the action open without inserting an empty magazine. For the longest time I couldn't understand how they could not know this. That is, until I learned that I had been tying my own shoes wrong for 50 years.

tying shoes the right way - Google Search

Most recently I learned that a Chinese food carton could be opened up into a plate. I'm sure there are more of these revelations that I've missed. I will try to attach pictures and video to explain them.

Anybody else have things like this that have become your favorite "aha moment?"

Last edited: Jan 23, 2019
    Zimmy, Ura-Ki, Dunerunner and 6 others like this.
  2. hot diggity

3. sec_monkey

sec_monkey SM Security Administrator

Lucy has fixed the glitch with this thread.

[winkthumb] [winkthumb]

4. hot diggity

Thanks. I thought it was something I had done. :)

5. sec_monkey

sec_monkey SM Security Administrator

no problem :) :)

it is a known glitch/bug.

6. arleigh

arleigh Goophy monkey

My very first attempts to friction fire were using hard wood ,reasoning that it should be tough and a little pitch to it for something toe light against. Wrong . Frustrated I put my parts in the drill press and got no response.
    Friction fire is done with long weeds and pithy wood, just about completely dead , and this absence of a lubricant made al the difference .
    I got this from a bush craft forum a few years ago.