I hate cowards.

Discussion in 'Freedom and Liberty' started by savindude, May 25, 2009.

1. savindude

savindude Monkey++

Went to a business this past week to correct some computer issues ( my job), was talking to this guy who went into great detail about how he avoided the draft during Vietnam era. He kept going for new degrees and wasn't ashamed to admit that if necessary he would have fled to Canada. I was only a kid back then, but being that I am a veteran and having an older brother who went in military in 60s, he really pi$$ed me off, but I had to be pleasant, because he is a customer. He was so proud of himself and his ingenuity. Coward.

2. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

Some customers are not worth having. I'll spare the rant.

3. dragonfly

dragonfly Monkey+++

As a Vietnam Vet, I can only wonder, do any of those that chose to go to Canada, or become C/O's, ever have bad dreams?
    I wonder if these individuals can see themseleves as a whole person, without guilt or having an inner voice reminding them of their acts?
    I wonder.....
    I have seen some consider suicide, in a drunken stupor, and others try to end their lives by the use of drugs, in a 'war' or 'combat' situation.
    I cannot speak for them, we are all individuals and have our own stories.
    I can say this: I am glad I went, I served with honor, and I did my job as well as it could be done.
    I went from a PUP to a grown man in just a matter of hours....
    It is sad, that so many today will never know the sacrifices, and the meaning, or concept of what it is to be a man.
    There were some that could not go, due to medical or other reasons, and that is far more acceptable to those that did serve.
    Personally, I could not look at myself in a mirror, had I chose differently.

4. Cephus

Cephus Monkey+++ Founding Member

I never knew anybody that went to Canada but I did know some that went college