In Praise of the Humble Figure-of-Eight Knot

Discussion in 'Bushcraft' started by UncleMorgan, Oct 6, 2018.

Tags:
  1. UncleMorgan

UncleMorgan I like peeling bananas and (occasionally) people.

This is probably one of the best, most reliable, and easiest-to-tie knots that I've ever encountered. In fact, it's so subtle that almost everyone ignores it.

Except mountain climbers. They know that the F-o-8 knot is stronger, holds better, and is safer than a bowline.

Yes--that would be the same bowline knot that everyone seems to regard as the most reliable knot ever tied. It isn't: It's easily tied wrong, and it can fail at the worst possible moment.

I studied the bowline knot until I could tie one in a slack line one-handed. That took a lot of practice, and it never got easy.

The F-o-8 knot is so easy that a child can learn it in thirty seconds.

And it has several advantages over a bowline.

Just try tying a bowline tightly around something. Go ahead. I dare ya. No hurry. Take an hour. Take two. Then try tying it tightly around something you can't reach, like an overhead tree limb.

(Let me save you some time on that: You can't.)

But a F-o-8 knot can be tied around something, and instantly drawn snug, just like a running noose (or lasso, as it's sometimes called). But unlike a lasso, a F-o-8 knot will not back off when slacked and work itself loose.

Want to tie a line securely to an overhead branch? Toss the line over and recover the end. Tie the knot in the "short" end of the rope, and then just pull the the rope tight, sending the knot right up to the overhead branch.

Then you can swing like Tarzan of the Apes if you so desire.

Tired of having the starts and eds of your lashings slip? Tired of wasting a lot of line starting and ending your lashes? Skip the Timber Hitches and Clove Hitches and use a F-o-8 knot instead.