Initial Review - Axil GS Extreme 2.0 Enhanced Hearing Protection Earbuds

Discussion in 'Functional Gear & Equipment' started by 3M-TA3, Jul 29, 2023.

1. 3M-TA3

3M-TA3 Cold Wet Monkey

Note: I'm doing an early review on these primarily because there is currently a summer sale that offers these for half price when you buy two or more. If you have been considering a purchase of in ear shooting and industrial active noise protection this is a great time to purchase.

I decided it was time to upgrade my hearing protection to an earbud style to provide better clearance for head wear and cheek welds, etc.., plus the idea of less weight and bulk from wearing over the ear protection. Even though the ones I've been using for the last several years work well and have active noise cancellation that allows me to hear naturally while suppressing gun shots, it seems that I'm always changing new batteries which is a tricky hassle.

After some research I narrowed it down to Axil, and from there to the Axil GS Extreme 2.0. GS Extreme 2.0 – AXIL

While there is a completely wireless version it is significantly more expensive and I was worried that if I lost one out in the woods it would be difficult, if not impossible, to find. With a wired version if one does come out it would still be held captive. It also helps to prevent losing one or accidentally mixing them up if you and your spouse each have a set.

The other reason I went with the wired version is a current sale that has a 50% discount when you buy two or more. At $100 discounted these are IMO a very good deal. The sale does also gove a 35% discount on one resulting in an acceptable $130. Full retail is $200 USD.

They come in this very nice compact carrying case that holds the ear buds, manual and accessories:
    upload_2023-7-29_13-52-34.
    upload_2023-7-29_13-53-12.