Kenwood TS-120S

Discussion in 'Survival Communications' started by norseman, Feb 28, 2021.

1. norseman

norseman Monkey

Hi. i am new to Ham Radio and trying to learn. I picked up a TS-120S at an estate sale with the power supply. I purchased a copper pipe antenna and have it mounted to the top of the house on an old dish mount. When powered up I only get numbers on the 14 band, other bands I get the decimal points. I have been able to pick up a couple transmissions but only one clear enough to understand. I have ordered a owners manual. Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thank you

Last edited: Mar 1, 2021
  2. techsar

techsar Monkey+++

Low gain from some 2sc460 transistors in the input stage to the pll board could cause that...

A related failure (from your description) is shown here:
    EI3FEB: Trio TS-120S PLL unlock fault

User manual pdf: http://www.vk4yeh.com/downloads/TS-120S_Operating_Manual_R1.pdf

Service manual pdf: https://w5rkl.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/TS120S_serv.pdf

Not sure what sort of copper pipe antenna you have, but I suspect it may be for a different band than that radio incorporates...more data (or pic) would be helpful in that aspect.

Last edited: Feb 28, 2021
    3M-TA3 likes this.
  3. sdr

sdr Monkey++

Definitely post a pic of your antenna. I want to see that.

Find a good repair shop.

It's not that difficult to get licensed. The knowledge is very important for using HF.

4. Merkun

Merkun furious dreamer

Find the local ham club. There are brains to be picked. Your first license, Technician, will limit what you can do with that transiever, so spend the time and get your General ASAP.

Really want to see that antenna. I've this suspician that it won't work with the 120.

madmax likes this.
  5. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator