Krav Maga for 69 yo in case the Zombies come?

Discussion in 'Survival of the Fittest' started by AD1, Nov 17, 2023.

1. AD1

AD1 Monkey+++

Hey Monkies

With all of the shit going down in the world today, I have been watching and noticing that there is a shit load of combative attacks(sucker punches, random, targeted...)

I am very good on the pistol front, but under the Tuler distance(21ft) I have no current experience in hand to hand, and feel that is a very big hole in my defenses.

I am considering take Krav Maga at a local gym that KM is 90% of what they teach along with BJJ.

I am good on cardio as I have been biking 3200+miles this year to date, plus 3000+ rucking miles with 30lbs for each of the last 3 years.

I started lifting weights and taking supplements to stop bone and muscle loss(that old age shit).

If you were in my situation, which Marshal arts would you take at this age?

gii shi kan dug, 3M-TA3, jim2 and 5 others like this.
  2. Ura-Ki

Ura-Ki Grampa Monkey

I continuously train in several martial arts disciplines, some are much better then others, with Judo and Krav Maga being VERY good for what your looking to learn, I would even recommend taking BOTH, and ask your instructor(s) for specific hand to hand defense with weapons, this is where Judo will really come into it's own, where Krav is more physical, it dosn't really address weapons or disarming, it's more for taking some one down Hard and keeping them down! Judo is the easier of the two, but both are going to take many years to master, but any level of skill will help, so the sooner you start, the sooner you build in the holes in your defenses and will also learn where you need to focus your efforts!

3. Meat

Meat Monkey+++