Let's talk Honda generators

Discussion in 'Functional Gear & Equipment' started by ColtCarbine, Sep 26, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ColtCarbine

ColtCarbine Monkey+++ Founding Member

I'm looking to purchase a Honda EB2800i Inverter Generator. I'm leaning towards this one being it is a lot of generator in a small package. It has 2-120 volt GFCI protected duplex outlets and weighs 67 lbs. I have no need for a generator with a DC option that I'm aware of.

I've read a lot of good reviews on the EU2000i but from the sounds of it, it won't meet my needs to run my power tools. Besides that the EB2800i Is the same price as the EU2000i.

I'm a Plumbing Contractor and like the idea of small and lighter, being space inside my plumbing van is valuable.

This is a business purchase for use on remote job sites and/or for instances that a power source is a substantial distance away. Drilling 4 5/8" holes with a self feed bit in wood needs consistent reliable power. Nothing worse than having an interruption in voltage and amps while doing so.

Major tools that will be operated are: air compressor, Milwaukee Hole Hawg, Milwaukee Portable Band Saw.

Motomom34 and Gator 45/70 like this.
  2. Asia-Off-Grid

Asia-Off-Grid RIP 11-8-2018

I suppose it would depend what size compressor you have. Does the genset provide enough watts to start the compressor?

sec_monkey likes this.
  3. Tully Mars

Tully Mars Metal weldin' monkey

Honda's are the standard. I know they ain't cheap, but they don't break down. We have the smaller 2000 and it's logged a lot of hours tailgating and using it to power pea shellers out in the field, stuff like that. Besides being reliable they are light and quiet-a big plus for me.

sec_monkey likes this.
  4. Asia-Off-Grid

Asia-Off-Grid RIP 11-8-2018

Agreed. Wouldn't trade mine for anything. EU20i, here.

sec_monkey and Tully Mars like this.
  5. Bandit99

Bandit99 Monkey+++ Site Supporter+