Looking for advice on some firearms.

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by Viking, May 27, 2009.

1. Viking

Viking Monkey++

I am sure there are some posts similar to this but bear with me please, I am a relative newb here.

I am looking for some Firearm advice. I currently own a S&W .40 cal, a small single barrel 20 guage shotgun and a couple of .22 rifles (10/22's).

I am looking to collect a couple more. I am interested in home protection and hunting.

I do not have a lot of money to spend. Unfortunately I am one of those people that believed the American Dream was to have everything NOW without saving for it. I have an excellent credit score and have always made my payments but most of my cash goes into those payments so there isn't a lot left over....

I am fixing this situation a bit at a time but think I should purchase a rifle and perhaps a semi-auto along with a decent supply of ammunition before I am unable to at all.

Can any of you reccomend a decent hunting rifle and a semi-auto rifle suitable for home-defense that are as reasonable as possible price wise?

Thanks in advance,

V

2. tacmotusn

tacmotusn RIP 1/13/21

IMHO for the self defense rifle, and the cost factor you stressed, I would say go with one or two sks rifles and all the ball ammo you can stockpile. You might ask why not an AK-47? The sks will shoot groups half the size of an AK. The sks butt stock length is short enough to be acceptable for women and older children to shoot as well. If money was not a factor I would try to steer you to an AR platform for the defense rifle. For the hunting rifle I like the .308 in bolt action. Find a good used one. In a major name brand, Winchester, Remington, Ruger, Savage.

3. Viking

Viking Monkey++

Thank you.

My first hunting rifle was a Remington model 788 .308 and I was actually thiniking about one of those again.

The SKS was what I was thinking as well. My only problem there is that I have heard some SKS versions are a lot better than others.