Gear Review Marathon GSAR Automatic Watch Review

Discussion in 'Functional Gear & Equipment' started by melbo, Jun 23, 2010.

1. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

I got back into the habit of wearing a watch in 2005 after Bear and I had a conversation about the fact that most people now rely on cell phones to tell them what time it is. He suggested I try the Marathon Field Watch (Mil-W-4637). It’s a great little 17 jewel, mechanical wind watch with tritium tubes on the hands and hours. You used to be able to find them for $80 and now if you see them at all, they’re closer to $200 (we just discovered that TopSpecUS has them for $137). I decided to upgrade myself to an automatic late last year and since I’ve been drooling at the Marathon G-SAR online for a couple of years, the choice was easy.

This is the Marathon G-SAR Automatic Watch.
    Marathon.GSAR.1.JPG

Marathon.GSAR.8.JPG

Marathon.GSAR.3.JPG

The G-SAR sells for $780 USD. I purchased the optional stainless bracelet for another $157. So just what do you get for $937 worth of stainless steel goodness? Here are some specs from Marathon:

The Marathon Watch Company started making watches in 1904 as Weinsturm Watch (later Wein Brothers) and has been manufacturing timepieces for military contracts since 1941.

Marathon.GSAR.14.

My G-SAR was born in Switzerland in October 2009 and showed up on my doorstep at the beginning of January 2010. Compared to the size of the field watch I’ve worn 24/7 for the past 5 years, this thing is huge. The sapphire face stands a full ½“ off the wrist and the bezel and knurled winding knob are beefy, easy to grasp and generally overbuilt. There are some who wear larger watches than this and actually call this watch small but I think it’s perfect.

Here’s a side by side comparison of the G-SAR and the Rolex Submariner.

rolsar1large.

rolsar3large.