microhydro power

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by melbo, Nov 27, 2006.

1. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

Alright, alright... I know I've been talking about taking the plunge for a few years now. But, I didn't realize it PAID me $$$$

I can put in a 4000kw system with a grid tie that will make me $15.56 a day for aroun $7,000. The TVA pays around double for 'alternative' electricity than what I pay them. So, $16 a day is around $480 a month. I think I can cover my elec bill out of that and get a few $$ back. (My highest elec bill ever was $300). They also sign a contract that they buy from me for 10 years...

Now, the least expensive part of my system is the actual generating turbine at $1200. So, Iffen I have the flow, I could double that and possibly double my output to the grid for almost $900

$900ish a month off my waterfall would be nice.

Now, here's another idea on all that bugout and retreat land we talk about... I know that I have gotten a few links from Clyde and others that have MaSsIvE waterfalls on them. Mines just a stream that drops 100ft. I've seen some that are gushers, like 500 gallons a minute dropping 30-40 ft. That's a $25K system but could possibly make $2-3K a month in 'buy-back" from the Elec Co. Put an extra turbine in there and double that? Wow.... Maybe we need to start looking at those undesireable lands that have flowing water on them and secure 10 acres of them?

If we could find a couple hundred acres, put in a hydro system, and use that $$ to pay the mortgage and tax and future improvements? hmmmmmmm. I'm in for that.

2. Clyde

Clyde Jet Set Tourer Administrator Founding Member

dat's da realOSB

3. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

Keep talking. Where?

4. monkeyman

monkeyman Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member