1. The Topic of the Month for October is "Make this the Perfect Bugout Location". Please join the discussion in the TOTM forum.

My .22's

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by Valkman, Aug 21, 2005.

1. Valkman

Valkman Knifemaker Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

Let's see I have a Sears & Roebuck single-shot rifle my Dad gave me in '68 when I was 13. He later said it cost well under $20!

I also have a Marlin 60 rifle, a Ruger Mark II 6 7/8" bull-barrel pistol I used when I started shooting Bullseye and another standard Mark II that's the wife's. Then there's the S&W M41 that I graduated to for Bullseye - it's an older model and I paid $525 used. I love that gun, it must have a 2# trigger pull!

I used to have a Remington Nylon 66 that was a great rifle - I won it but it "disappeared" when I had a girlfriend with a drug problem.

I'll admit I haven't shot any .22 in some time. Seems that since I started reloading I've really gotten into the bigger calibers and have had alot of fun shooting them. I also have a Savage .17 rifle that's amazingly accurate - just ugly so I re-did the stock. :)
  2. monkeyman

monkeyman Monkey+++ Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

The only .22 I have currently is a Ruger 10/22 that I use for the chickens and have to hold like a pistol when I take the bunnies out for butchering to get them in the head while I hold them at arms length. Im wanting to pick up a cheap little .22 pistol for that but havent gotten to yet.
  3. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

I love the .22.
    I also love the 50.

It's not the size for my 'fun' stuff
    I just like to shoot and manage to pop off 20-30 rounds of Suppressed 22LR off my back deck every other night.
  4. E.L.

E.L. Moderator of Lead Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

I gotta get me one of those..................
  5. ghostrider

ghostrider Resident Poltergeist Founding Member

Ruger 22/45. Even my 22 has grip frame like a real gun.

Ruger 10/22.