Need some info on antennas

Discussion in 'Survival Communications' started by SB21, May 12, 2017.

Tags:
  1. SB21

SB21 Monkey+++

1st off, I have no experience on short wave radios. But I'm going to put up an antenna for one for an older fella at my local Legion post. This antenna is just a coated wire that extends about 100 feet one way from the the co-ax connection point, and about 50 feet the other way. The directions for this is not very detailed and informative. But it does state that it is not to be coming into contact with any metal, or at least that's my understanding from what the guy is telling me. The man is wanting me to stretch this thing from the ridge of his roof, we're I've previously mounted a metal piped tripod for an antenna , extending out to a tree in the front yard, and one in the back yard. He bought some para chord along with this antenna. I don't know if I'm supposed to stretch the para chord out and wrap the antenna around the chord or what .i wouldn't think para cord would last to awful long exposed to continuous weather .I was thinking of mounting a spring at each tree to attach the ends to, to maybe give a little flex in the wire in case of wind. My question here is , how do I attach this thing if it's not to have any contact with any metal ? Will the antenna still work if say one tree is only 80 feet away, and the other is only 40 feet away ? Do I just let the excess wire hang down, or roll it up ? I'm going to try and get by the guys house tomorrow , so if need be, I will try and get the model number and name of the antenna. Thanks for any help you can give me, I don't want to do a half assed job for the man.

2. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member