New garden guy here, couple questions

Discussion in 'The Green Patch' started by Resqdan, Oct 21, 2011.

1. Resqdan

Resqdan Archangle

I am new to gardening, at least gardening for food and upping my storage.. so any advise you have would be very helpful. Right now my garden is fairly small as i am trying to get a handle on what i actually want and need.. this season there was not even much left to put in to storage, so i have a long way to go and as i have discovered on this site if a person taps into the knowledge on here he can save a lot of time and frustration..

I am just curious what you do to control bugs and fungus.. and how do you plan on doing that after TSHTF.. i keep enough chemical on hand for a couple of years but is there something more natural i could stock up on or try to see if it works in my area anyway..

I also ordered some Heirloom seeds that came all nicely sealed in a mylar bag.. I put them in the freezer.. but it doesnt sit well with me.. should i take them out and plant them and create my own supply of seeds.. and when i plant them what do i want to do.. just save some seeds from the crop i produce and do that year to year, or is there steps i must perform to ensure everything happens, or does mother nature take care of it all..

If there is a gardening book or site i should buy or visit.. let me know

2. dragonfly

dragonfly Monkey+++

I have used a variety of natural things to control bugs...cayenne pepper mixed with vegetable oil for one. Not sure about fungus....I know if you smoke keep your hands washed before going in the garden and never smoke or drop any tobacco or products thereof in the soil.(Mosaic fungus kills everything) I learned that one the hard way! I have even brewed beer in a 5 gallon carbaloy and used it in the garden to boost the plants much like a liquid fertilizer.
    In hard soils I had found a mix of things including liquid dish soap to loosen the soils to allow for good root growth.

3. Falcon15