New member..battery charging advice required please :)

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by poppydogpaul, Feb 13, 2016.

1. poppydogpaul

poppydogpaul Monkey

Hi all :) ....I'm sure this topic creates a 'yawn' factor for those in the know...I'm a carpenter ;) so any advice would be appreciated...

I'm currently building a self build motorhome...the base vehicle is an ex govt minibus so is utilising 2x 12v mercedes 110 ah lead batteries (in parallel..24v)....for starting, 4 small fluro lights and to power a fitted ebespacher diesel heater (blown air). I have also aquired 2 x banner 12 v 110ah lead batteries for a future planned 24v leisure circuit.

Due to financial constraints and work commitments the bus has been left for approx 3 months with total inactivity.

My long term plan is to have the diesel heater and the lights wired over to my banner 24v leisure circuit with an inverter...(I'm considering solar to supply this eventually with an inverter...apart from the forementioned power requirements I am only running a small dvd player/screen and laptop charger...all cooking is lpg and a woodburner is en route!)

So here are my initial questions...all four batteries were accepting charge just fine before my recent neglect...( banners are in the boot disconnected...merc starters are fitted in place). I need to move the bus to a permanent site offering shore power asap (narcissist site owner)...so a charger is required..like yesterday. For about £40 I can purchase a simple 12v charger isolate the cells...get the van running (hopefully)...then worry about decisions of permanent installed intelligent chargers later....or is this a risk?...Is it worth the investment now in a 24v intelligent charger that will hopefully give the batteries best chance of a recovery charge? then be fitted in lace for maintenance (in the UK 'Ctek' brand..8 stage intelligent charger keeps being recommended...a £250 spend|! ..gulp!)