New to the forum / Need EDC suggestion

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by dnbailey, Jul 12, 2013.

1. dnbailey

dnbailey Monkey

Hello all! I'm new to the forum. From Indiana. Although I have a fair amount of survival training, I'm not by any means a survival expert. I'm here to learn and possibly contribute when I can.

Question: I need suggestions for an EDC knife. I don't necessarily need a fighting knife, although if it comes to that, it comes to that. Typically when I'm not at work I carry at least one firearm. As an Eagle Scout, I've carried a pocket knife basically my whole life. Usually I carry a cheap knife I'll pick up somewhere until it falls apart and then get another one. I would like to get something nicer that will last a while. Usually I will wear khakis or scrubs to work, depending on which job I'm at (I'm a registered nurse and a clinical informatics consultant). Any recommendations? Budget is under $150. Thanks in advance for any advice!

-----
    Please excuse any typos - sent from my mobile device using Tapatalk.

Stand up for your rights, people! Wake up!

2. wastelander

wastelander Bad English, bare with me

Brokor likes this.
  3. Pop_45

Pop_45 Monkey

I don't have the clothing restrictions you have, so what I carry may not work for you. But I carry a Buck 110 folder in a nylon carry case.
    I also carry a small three blade congress. Bought it at a flea market for $10 No brand name that I've seen, but takes and holds an edge well

4. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

Check out the Hinderers. Link is on the front page before you log in. Pricy, but arguably worth it.

5. Motomom34

Motomom34 Monkey+++

I read a book called, The Twilight's Last Gleaming: On Your Own in America, Nathan L. Combs. There was a whole chapter plus on knives, more in-depth then I liked but if you like knives he had pretty well thought out suggestions as to what to get for what purpose.

6. Witch Doctor 01