Occupation Thread ( what do you do)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Quigley_Sharps, Aug 2, 2005.

1. Quigley_Sharps

Quigley_Sharps The Badministrator Administrator Founding Member

Time for this one I guess!
    Im a Wind Turbine Service Technician

2. RightHand

RightHand Been There, Done That RIP 4/15/21 Moderator Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

Small Business Services - everything but the windows (MS or otherwise)

3. Minuteman

Minuteman Chaplain Moderator Founding Member

Dinosaur hunter.
    Oil that is, Black gold, Texas tea.
    I work for the largest Oilwell Workover Contractor in the world.We service existing wells and keep the oil flowing.I have been in the Drilling end for half my career.Been in the service end for the last half.Work mostly in the Middle East.
    I am currently in Egypt.

4. melbo

melbo Hunter Gatherer Administrator Founding Member

Minuteman, I build homes.... I know you posted a whole lot of 'peak oil' info on another site but it would be a good addition here too :)

5. Minuteman

Minuteman Chaplain Moderator Founding Member

Yeah I found something I knew enough about to comment on.That's dangerous.
    If there's interest I'll keep up the topic over here.
    Just build houses? I did that for awhile when I was young.Hard work.Log homes right?I'd like to see some pics.That's what I'm working towards.Some nice mountain land in SE Okla. or Ark and a nice log home on a hill.

6. RightHand

RightHand Been There, Done That RIP 4/15/21 Moderator Moderator Emeritus Founding Member

Thanks Melbo. I built my first computer in the early 80's - nothing fancy, 8" FDD, a used power supply, a T80 controller. Not much better than an abacus by todays standards but at the time I had the only one around.

Open source is the doorway to new systems and technology instead of just the good marketing and partnering that made MS the standard. It's my belief that MS has stunted the growth of technology.