Off Grid Solar

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by AllTrades, Jun 17, 2015.

1. AllTrades

AllTrades Monkey

I am new to off grid and recently built my first off grid solar system. After a little trial and error and a lot of research this is what I came up. I explain in the video how to properly size your system and figure out how much panel wattage you will need compared to battery bank size. I live in a really sunny area year round so pv array size will no doubt need to be bigger in other places.

I used 4 Suniva 320 watt panels
    8 interstate 6v 232ah deep cycle batteries ran series/parallel for a 24 v system
    Outback FM-60 charge controller
    Samlex 1000watt pure sine wave inverter

3M-TA3 likes this.
  2. BTPost

BTPost Stumpy Old Fart,Deadman Walking, Snow Monkey Moderator

Nice Stuff.... Welcome to the Monkey Tree....

3. AllTrades

AllTrades Monkey

Thanks! This site looks great. I'm looking forward to learning a lot here.

4. T. Riley

T. Riley Monkey+++

I just finished mine. 9 100 watt grape solar cells in three series groups, Outback FM-80, 4 155ah 12v VMaxTank batteries and 2000 Watt psw inverter. I do wish I had selected larger panels.

5. AllTrades

AllTrades Monkey

Sloth,
    I hear you on the wire sizing. Being an AC guy, figuring the DC side was interesting but I think I got it now.
    My PV wires are #8 which can handle up to 40 amps at 140degF divide my wattage (1280) by the voltage (72) and you get about 18 amps, so plenty of wire there.
    As far as my inverter wires which are #2 wire; my inverter is 1000w and might peak at 2000w. So at the max, 2000w divided by 24volts (batteries) is 83 amps. # 2 wire is rated at 95 amps.
    That is how I figured out my wiring. Like I said though, I am new to this stuff and if there is something else I could account for I'm counting on the more experienced to point it out. Thanks.

What are VD?

6. AllTrades

AllTrades Monkey

Nice. Did you run your batteries as 12, 24 or 48 volt?