Off grid water?

Discussion in 'Off Grid Living' started by ffp911, Jan 8, 2015.

1. ffp911

ffp911 Monkey

Hello, Newbie here!

I am looking at building a cabin for some short week long and weekend stints. We would normally winterize water system. Researching my options and that brings up a few questions...

We have the ability to go with a well, but costly. Possibly down to 250'. $10,000. We won't have grid electricity. If we go with a solar well pump to fill a holding tank, is it better to place that holding tank above or below ground? (In Iowa, it was -20 below yesterday) We'll use a 12v pump to pressure the rest of the cabin. Do you have to periodically clean out and disinfect the cistern/tank? If not, how do you filter it to remove bacterial and other contaminates? I know you could use RO for drinking, but wouldn't want to do that for the whole cabin use.

We could collect rainwater off the roof. Using a similar system as above. I would expect even more contaminates into a cistern. Do you prefilter the rainwater? Other concerns?

We could truck it in. Not ideal. Are there other possibilities we're not thinking of? I'm sure i'll have other questions as the thread goes...Trying to keep it short. Thanks to all.

Jim

Motomom34 likes this.
  2. KAS

KAS Monkey+++

Jim ...
    Welcome !!!
    1st thing first if it was -20 at my house first thing i would do is MOVE.....LOL joke just kidding ...
    Is there a lake or stream near bye? i hear alot about these ram pumps {but never fooled with one }

I have a few more suggestions for you ...
    Send a message to BTpost on here he stores a whole shabang of water and uses the run off system...
    There is a guy on youtube engineer775 he has a whole bunch of knowledge on water and were to get it and what to do with it ...