Opt out of social security?

Discussion in 'Financial Cents' started by oil pan 4, Dec 29, 2016.

1. oil pan 4

oil pan 4 Monkey+++

Reason I ask is when my dad died he had been paying into social security for about 45 years, was forced to retire then only drew social security for 9 months or less, then dead...
    From about 2005 to 2013 my dad earned near 100,000, so he paid in a lot.
    No one else can claim his Social security.
    Since there is a fair chance the exact same thing could happen to me I figure why let the government take it all.
    Or social security may collapse.
    With my luck at least one of those will surely happen.

I have been paying into it for almost 20 years now.
    The compensation I would get if I became disabled tomorrow is IMO kind of a lot, probably the reason why the system is broken.

Does any one know if I opted out if what I put in so far would vanish, or would it have the same effect if I just stopped working?

I ask because I would actually save that money and the investing I have done since 2003 has done pretty well and those years weren't exactly the best for markets and growth. So I think I could do better with my money than the government.

My tax situation has become very complicated in 2016 so i will be seeking a CPA this time around. Would they know about this?

2. Thunder5Ranch

Thunder5Ranch Monkey+++

Unless you belong to some very specific groups you can't opt out of Social Security, participation is mandatory outside of a very few exemptions.

Ganado likes this.
  3. stg58

stg58 Monkey+++ Founding Member

SS is a pyramid ponzi scheme if you ran a business like SS you would be at club fed with Bernie Madoff, if they allow some to opt out the whole thing collapses.
    The only income I know of that is exempt from SS is income from rental properties.

Damn it keep paying I will be collecting soon..:LOL:

4. Tully Mars

Tully Mars Metal weldin' monkey

They should.