Political Anthropology

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by CBMS, Oct 27, 2008.

1. CBMS

CBMS Looking for a safe place

Hello All,
    As most of you know I am a student up here in Canuckvilleland. I am taking a political anthropology class this semester and in it I have to propose a topic to be researched. The main idea behind Political Anthropology is the wielding of power over another person/group/country.
    Here's where I need your help.

I would like to propose for figurative purposes only (there will be no REAL study, just a proposition.) a study of us preppers, However I cant think of an Antagonist that rallies against us. What should I use as OUR Antagonist? Please no Tinfoil suggestions.
    CBMS

2. Seacowboys

Seacowboys Senior Member Founding Member

Fred Thompson and the entire GOP would be a good start. They want us to believe that all is well, the sky ain't falling, and they won't come in our mouth.

3. ghrit

ghrit Bad company Administrator Founding Member

\

I would expand that to the whole of congress. Might be interesting to explore how that august body supports the usurpation of liberty in the name of security. Not that it is necessarily a conscious move to do so, but the simple expedient of jumping on the bandwagon of ignoring or twisting law to justify chipping away at liberty.

4. Seawolf1090

Seawolf1090 Retired Curmudgeonly IT Monkey Founding Member

For simplicity and to enable the reader to have some empathy with the writer, I would limit the antagonist to the local Government, and their LEO arm.
    Anything that brings the prepper to the public eye results in the prepper being vilified as an "Extremist" bent on some evil, a danger to "The Public", even though extremism is not a part of the psyche of The Grey Man. If he has more than one rust-speckled 'hunting rifle' or shotgun, if he has more than one box of tarnished 'shells', if he owns any firearm of military origin or design - he is painted as having an 'arsenal'.